Unique in the world and located in the historic Martin Melck House in Cape Town, the Gold of Africa museum complex is the world’s first museum dedicated to the story of African gold. The collection comprises over 350 African gold artifacts and jewellery of the 19th and 20th century from West Africa.
Originally the parsonage for the Lutheran Church next door, this building was named after a wealthy businessman and the benefactor of the Lutheran Church, Martin Melck of Elsenburg. It was built a year after his death in 1782 and is the only remaining example in the Cape of an 18th century townhouse, complete with a “dakkamer” (a dormer room at the top of the building where ships could be sighted approaching the harbour). Located at the corner of Buitengracht and Strand Streets.